Managing users via the admin panel

The “Users” panel provides tools to manually manage user accounts. See Reference Guide: User Details for help with the New/Edit User dialog.

👥 Creating and editing users
Screencast showing a user being created.

Click the New User button to open the New User dialog, or click on an existing user to edit.

🗑️ Deleting users
Screencast showing a user being selected for deletion.

Use the ⋮ Actions menu to open the Delete User dialog.

Warning

💥 Deleting a customer destroys all their associated tickets!

To learn more, see Data Privacy.

🔎 Filtering the user list
Screencast showing the user list being filtered by available user roles.

Use the 🔎 Search for users bar and the Roles buttons to filter the list. You may search by name, email, or any other user attribute.

Note

🐞 Known bug

The search list displays up to 50 users, from newest to oldest. That means that if there are more than 50 results, the user you’re searching for might not be shown.

This is a known bug with a fix underway.

🔒 Unlock locked user accounts
Screencast showing how to unlock user accounts

Use the ⋮ Actions menu to unlock accounts after too many failed logins. Locked accounts are indicated with a 🔒 lock icon on the left side.

🏴‍☠️ Taking over a user’s session
Screencast showing an admin switching to the users perspective

Use the ⋮ Actions menu to 👁️ View from user’s perspective.

The View from user’s perspective button allows you to “hijack” another user’s session and confirm firsthand what they can and can’t do (or see) when they’re logged in.

This is especially useful when you need to verify that you’ve set up custom permissions correctly for non-admin users.

When finished, use the Back to my view ✕ button at the top of the page. If you try to exit by logging out, the “hijacked” user session will be restored when you log back in.

Danger

⚠ With great power comes with great responsibility.

This feature is not a simulation; entering this mode will boot the user from their session, and any actions you take (responding to tickets, changing passwords, logging hours worked) will actually be performed from the user’s account.

(On the other hand, if the user logs back in, you’ll be booted, too.)

🔑 Manage Two-Factor Authentication
Screencast showing removal of user's two-factor method.

Use the ⋮ Actions menu to remove a user’s configured two-factor method.

It’s possible to remove a single or all of the user’s configured methods, if they lose access. They can then set it up again by themselves via “Avatar -> Profile -> Password & Authentication”.